• This topic is locked This topic is locked
112 replies to this topic

#1 Demosthenes

Demosthenes

Crewman Apprentice

• Members
  • 92 posts

Posted 27 September 2013 - 03:42 PM

Will there be any Halo installations in future releases?  I really liked the forerunner slipspace portals, and it would be cool to have some sort of Halo.  I know there's been discussion of adding shield worlds, but I think it would be fitting for a Halo mod to have a Halo.  I am new to the mod, so please forgive me if this discussion has occurred several times before.

• Bornstellaris likes this

#2 Moustachio86

Moustachio86

UniMinion

• Contributor
  • 1,360 posts

Posted 27 September 2013 - 03:49 PM

The rings have historically been unlikely to be implemented, in part due to size issues. They are much larger than ships but much smaller than planets which, given the already questionable scale of Sins of a Solar Empire, can create subtle problems. That said, I believe it is not out of the question that they may appear as the 'artefact world' in Rebellion's victory conditions. 

In short, there is currently no solid answer (to the best of my knowledge) but it is unlikely. If it does happen, it will not be for a while. 

Oh, and welcome to the Mod. Enjoy your stay. Don't be afraid of the more colourful characters, they all mean well.

• Unikraken, CanadaMan7, Emberblaque and 2 others like this

#3 Demosthenes

Demosthenes

Crewman Apprentice

• Members
  • 92 posts

Posted 27 September 2013 - 04:03 PM

Happy to be here.  Perhaps the rings could be placed in close orbit to enlarged gas giants (which they're always nearby anyway).  The bigger planet it's orbiting would make it look small, but still pretty big in comparison to ships.

#4 Moustachio86

Moustachio86

UniMinion

• Contributor
  • 1,360 posts

Posted 27 September 2013 - 04:36 PM

That is a point that has been raised, I think it has quite a bit of merit. I can't say I know any more than I've said already.

#5 Faced

Faced